Collegium Medicum in Bydgoszcz

Collegium Medicum was previously known as the Ludwik Rydygier Medical University, which was established by the Seym (the lower chamber of the Polish parliament) on 21st July 1984. In October of the same year, the Rector, Prof. dr hab. Jan Domaniewski, inaugurated the youngest medical university in Poland.

In 2004, the Medical University in Bydgoszcz was incorporated into the Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń and renamed as the Ludwik Rydygier Collegium Medicum in Bydgoszcz. Since then, it has been providing academic education as part of NCU.

Currently, Collegium Medicum in Bydgoszcz provides education in Polish in 17 fields of study offered by three faculties:

Collegium Medicum buildingsFaculty of Medicine:

  • biotechnology
  • dispensing optics and optometry
  • medicine
  • optometry

Faculty of Pharmacy:

  • cosmetology
  • laboratory medicine
  • pharmacy

Faculty of Health Sciences:

  • audiophonology
  • electroradiology
  • emergency medical science
  • midwifery
  • nursing
  • nutrition science
  • occupational therapy
  • physiotherapy
  • public health

Moreover, higher education programmes in the fields of medicine, nursing, physiotherapy and pharmacy are also offered with English as the language of instruction.

Two teaching hospitals function at Collegium Medicum as the institutional base for education, scientific research and highly specialised diagnostic, medical and rehabilitation services:

The organisational units of Collegium Medicum also collaborate with:

  • the Franciszek Łukaszczyk Oncology Centre in Bydgoszcz,
  • the Jerzy Popiełuszko Hospice in Bydgoszcz,
  • the Kuyavian-Pomeranian Pulmonology Centre in Bydgoszcz,
  • the Tadeusz Borowicz Provincial Infectious Diseases Hospital in Bydgoszcz,
  • the Ludwik Rydygier Provincial Polyclinic Hospital in Toruń,
  • the Provincial Children’s Hospital in Toruń,
  • the 10th Military Research Hospital and Polyclinic in Bydgoszcz.